Child Protection Policy
The following PDF forms are used in the implementation of the Child Protection and Sexual Harassment policy of Christ Reformed Church. Click on the header to view and download the file.
Megan’s Law Registrants attending Christ Reformed Church are required to follow this policy and is meant to supplement terms of parole.
The church staff and each volunteer child/youth worker is required to sign this Acknowledgement of Receipt of Child Protection/Sexual Harassment Policy, that they have received a copy of this policy, read it, and understand it.
At least one parent of a child shall be required to complete and sign this Waiver and Consent of Parent and Authorization to Treat a Minor form on an annual basis. A copy of the completed Authorization to Treat a Minor form shall be taken on any field trip.
This document describes how to recognize and report child abuse and neglect per the California Penal Code.
Child Protection and Sexual Harassment Policy Updated 2014-05-09.pdf - Christ Reformed Church is committed to creating and maintaining programs, facilities and community in which members, friends, staff and volunteers can worship, learn and work together in an atmosphere free from misconduct towards minors and sexual harassment. It is the intention of the church to prevent behavior that is contrary to this policy and, if necessary, to discipline those persons who violate this policy. This policy prohibits all misconduct towards minors. (A minor is anyone under 18 years of age). Sexual harassment is sexual advances toward another person contrary to his or her wishes. It includes behavior directed at another person with the intent of intimidating, humiliating, and embarrassing the other person, or subjecting the person to public discrimination.
The Consistory receiving the initial Incident Witness Report (see below) will be responsible for confirming the facts reported and the condition of the child or other victim on the same day on which the first report was made or as soon as practical. As soon as practical, the Consistory shall see that this Child Protection/Sexual Harassment Incident Report is completed.
Any complaint or report of a violation of this policy shall be submitted to any member of the Consistory. Any person who reports an incident shall submit this Incident Witness Report.
At least one parent of a child shall be required to complete and sign this Parent/Guardian of a Minor Consent and Hold Harmless form on an annual basis.
The Consistory shall fully comply with the California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, found in Penal Code Section 11164-11174.3. As required by law, if there is a reasonable suspicion of child sexual abuse or neglect, a mandated reporter (one of the Pastors or the Clerk of Council) must report the incident immediately by telephone to the Police Department or Sheriff Department, followed up by this written report within 36 hours.
All pastors, elders, deacons, Sunday school teachers (including adult Sunday school teachers), church employees and independent contractors, and Gems and Cadets leaders and volunteers, nursery volunteers, and anyone who occasionally volunteers to work with youth is required to fill out this Child/Youth Worker Application form.